Despite efforts by state legislators and law enforcement authorities to discourage Michigan residents from driving while intoxicated, far too many motorists still put themselves and everyone around them at risk by trying to drive while substance-impaired. If one of these irresponsible drivers caused you to suffer injuries or damages in a wreck, you may have grounds for civil litigation.
Seeking compensation after a drunk driving car accident in Saline can be complicated, so it is best to work with a legal professional. By working with a seasoned car accident attorney from our firm, you can dramatically improve your odds of getting the restitution you deserve.
Recovering Compensation for Your Injuries and Damages
There are only certain circumstances under which Michigan’s no-fault car insurance laws allow you to file suit directly against the person responsible for causing the incident, even if that other person was drunk or high. Litigation is only possible after drunk driving car crashes under the following circumstances:
- The incident resulted in serious and lasting disability and/or disfigurement, or death
- The incident occurred in another state besides Michigan
- The driver at fault for the wreck is not a Michigan resident and does not have Michigan car insurance
- The lawsuit seeks $1,000 or less solely for damage to your vehicle that is not covered by your car insurance and which stems primarily or equally from someone else’s negligence compared to your own negligence
Outside of these scenarios, fault does not play into financial recovery following any type of car accident. If you were harmed in a wreck caused by a drunk driver, you can seek recovery for necessary medical expenses, up to 85 percent of lost wages for up to three years following the accident, and $20 maximum per day for “replacement” household services through your personal injury protection (PIP) insurance coverage.
Proving a Drunk Driver at Fault for a Crash in Saline
If litigation is possible following a drunk driving crash, proving that said crash resulted directly from someone else’s intoxication requires evidence. The police officer(s) who responded to the accident scene may have cited one or more drivers involved for Operating While Intoxicated (OWI), Operating While Visibly Impaired (OWVI), or Unlawful Bodily Alcohol Level/Content (UBAL/UBAC). That citation can be used as evidence in an injury claim.
In other situations, a claim like this may need to be supported with additional documentary or forensic evidence, such as receipts from a bar, dashboard camera footage, and alcohol containers found in or around the defendant’s vehicle at the crash scene. A qualified accident lawyer can take the lead in collecting relevant evidence and using it to build a strong case.
Contact Our Saline Office for Help After a Drunk Driving Car Accident
Drunk drivers cause hundreds of avoidable injuries in Michigan every year, and state authorities prosecute intoxicated motorists harshly. Whether or not there are any criminal proceedings following your accident, we can help you pursue financial compensation.
Our knowledgeable legal counsel will work tirelessly on your behalf to protect your rights and interests following a drunk driving car accident in Saline. Call today for a free, private consultation.