In recent years, ridesharing and ride-hailing have become popular alternatives to taxis and buses. Companies like Uber and Lyft have convenient apps that allow people to order rides through their phones. Although these services are incredibly useful, rideshare drivers are not immune to accidents.
If you were injured in an Uber, Lyft, or Rideshare accident in Saline, you may have a solid legal claim against the at-fault party. Our seasoned vehicle collision lawyers can help you file a legal claim against the at-fault driver, or the rideshare company itself. Reach out to our team as soon as possible to discuss your legal options.
Potential Causes of Uber and Lyft Collisions
Uber and Lyft accidents occur just like any other vehicle crash. The rideshare driver may be responsible, or someone in another vehicle may have caused the incident. Some common causes of these accidents are:
Understanding the cause of the accident can be useful in your legal claim. If you were in an accident while ridesharing or struck by an Uber or Lyft driver, consider speaking with our lawyers about the cause of your collision.
Pursuing Compensation After a Ridesharing Accident in Saline
State law dictates how Uber, Lyft, and other independent contractors who provide rides will compensate people injured while using their services. These laws exist in addition to Michigan’s no-fault benefits, which pay economic damages such as medical care and lost wages to those injured in car accidents.
If an Uber or Lyft driver causes an accident, you and anyone else injured because of the driver’s negligence are covered by $1,000,000 in liability insurance carried by the rideshare companies. The driver’s personal vehicle insurance may also be a source of compensation if the driver is found negligent.
Uninsured Motorist Insurance
Rideshare companies also carry insurance for accidents caused by uninsured motorists in which rideshare passengers are injured. Benefits accrue up to $1,000,000 for pain and suffering, which are non-economic damages. Even if an uninsured motorist crashes into an Uber or Lyft and flees the scene, you could seek compensation from the company.
Property Damage Insurance
State law makes Uber and Lyft carry a minimum of $25,000 property damage coverage if their drivers damage someone’s property but are not transporting a passenger at the time. If a passenger is present, the rideshare companies must carry $1,000,000 coverage for property damage caused by the Uber or Lyft driver.
The insurance laws governing rideshare accidents are complicated, so it is important to contact an attorney in our Saline office who is familiar with these types of cases.
What is the Statute of Limitations?
If the other party’s insurer denies your claim or the compensation coming from Uber or Lyft is not sufficient to cover your injuries, you may choose to file a lawsuit. Under Michigan Compiled Laws §600.5805, prospective plaintiffs have three years from the date of an accident to file a personal injury lawsuit.
It is best to reach out to our attorneys as soon as you can after the Uber or Lyft accident to avoid missing the filing deadline. If you file your claim too late, you may not be able to recover compensation.
Seek Out Our Saline Lawyers for Your Uber/Lyft/Rideshare Accident Case
Although companies such as Uber and Lyft provide a helpful service, their drivers can be involved in severe accidents. Knowing what to do after a collision involving one of these companies can be tricky. If you were involved in an Uber, Lyft, or Rideshare accident in Saline, contact us today. Our dedicated legal team can support you throughout your case.