Michigan has more than 11,000 inland lakes, including popular recreational spots in Saline and surrounding communities. Boating is a great way to enjoy these lakes. However, some watercraft operators do not take the proper precautions and put themselves, other passengers, and other boaters at risk. When days on the water do not go as planned, serious accidents can happen.
If you suffered injuries in a dangerous incident, do not hesitate to speak with one of our Saline boat accident lawyers. You may be able to win compensation for your physical, emotional, and financial losses following the accident. By working with a skilled personal injury attorney on your boating accident case, you are improving your chances of success.
Types of Watercraft Accidents
As with motor vehicle drivers, boat operators have a responsibility to keep everyone on board their vessels safe. When boaters fail to take appropriate caution for those passengers and the others in the water, it can lead to severe accidents. Some of the most common watercraft accidents that our local attorneys provide representation for include:
- Capsizing or grounding
- Colliding with another boat or personal watercraft
- Striking a submerged object
- Fires or explosions
- Carbon monoxide exposure
- Incidents related to inclement weather
These types of accidents can lead to injuries such as head trauma, severe back injuries, burns, and water in your lungs. In severe cases, you may lose a family member in a boating wreck. No matter the type of watercraft accident you or your loved one was involved in, our experienced lawyers in Saline will work with you to seek justice.
Boating Safety and Registration Laws in Michigan
There are many laws governing boat operations in Michigan. The state requires all boat owners to register their watercrafts. However, there are exceptions for crafts that are 16 feet or shorter, such as kayaks, sailboards, and canoes. After three years, on March 31, boat owners must renew their registrations.
Additionally, all vessels on state waters must be equipped with quality life jackets that fit each passenger comfortably. As a passenger, you must wear your life vest any time you are on the deck of the boat or the watercraft is underway. If the boat operator did not provide you with a life jacket, you could hold them responsible for any ensuing injuries.
Watercraft operators are also prohibited from consuming alcohol during boating trips, as it impairs judgment and delays reaction times. If you believe intoxication played a role in your boating accident, you should speak with an attorney right away.
The Importance of Filing a Crash Report After an Accident in Saline
As per United States Coast Guard regulations, you must file a crash report after a boating accident. If your accident did not involve serious injuries or fatalities, you must report the incident to the Michigan Department of Natural Resources within ten days.
Accidents that result in severe injuries or death within 24 hours of the accident must be reported within 48 hours. The 48-hour rule also applies to incidents involving damage to a boat or missing persons. If you need help filing a crash report after your watercraft accident, reach out to a skilled lawyer from our firm today.
Discuss Your Case with a Boat Accident Attorney in Saline Today
Surviving a watercraft collision can leave you with severe physical injuries and emotional trauma. We encourage you to speak with a Saline boat accident lawyer as soon as you can to discuss the incident and learn about your legal options.
You could recover compensation to address all your injuries and damages. Contact us today to schedule a free consultation. We are here for you during this difficult time.