Child Safety Seats, Questions And Answers
Charles E. Boyk Law Offices, LLC would like to provide you with some information on child safety seats. The law requires children younger than age 4 to ride in safety seats. In order to help decrease the incidence of serious injury and death to children who are involved in car accidents, Ohio requires children to use safety seats while traveling. Here are some questions and answers that are provided by the Ohio State Bar Association (OSBA).
Q: When am I required to use a safety seat for my daughter?
A: If your child weighs less than 40 pounds or is less than 4 years of age, she must ride in a safety seat.
Q: When may I use a booster seat for my daughter?
A: Your child may ride in a booster seat if she is between 4 and 7 years of age and less than 4 feet, 9 nine inches (57 inches) tall. Children 8 years of age or older may use a standard adult seat belt.
Q: Is my child required to be in the back seat of the car?
A: No. Your child may be seated in the front seat or the backseat of the car. Though Ohio does not require your child to be in the back seat, most pediatricians and related experts agree your child is safest when seated in the back seat.
Q: What penalties might I face if my child is not properly seated?
A: First-time offenders will be guilty of a minor misdemeanor and face a minimum fine of $25 to a maximum fine of $75. Repeat offenders will be guilty of a fourth-degree misdemeanor, which can include a maximum punishment of up to 30 days in jail and a $250 fine.
Q: What if I can’t afford a proper safety seat?
A: If you cannot afford a safety seat, your local police department, fire department, church or hospital might provide you with one at little or no cost.
Q: Where can I get help properly installing my car seat?
A: Some local hospitals, police departments or fire departments are staffed with safety seat technicians who will help you install your child’s safety seat properly. There are also safety seat inspection stations throughout the state.
Q: What is the specific law that speaks about car seats in Ohio?
A: In Ohio, the law regarding car seats is spelled out in the Ohio Revised Code, Section 4511.81, titled, “Child restraint system – child highway safety fund.”
Q: Are car seat laws the same in every state?
A: No; every state has its own law regarding car seats and restraints. If you are traveling, make sure to learn about the laws of the states through which you will be traveling.
If your child is injured in an accident, don’t hesitate to call our Toledo, Ohio child accident lawyers any time of the day or night.
We handle Ohio personal injury cases involving car accidents, truck accidents, motorcycle accidents, ATV accidents, Ohio workers’ compensation, construction accidents, child injuries, wrongful death, medical malpractice, nursing home neglect, traumatic brain injuries, spinal cord injuries, food poisoning, dog bite attacks, and all injury cases.